top of page

Tom Bell wins Arnold Woods Cup in virtual ceremony

The 2020 AGM was held online on Friday 13th November.

Our season was severely shortened due to the Covid-19 restrictions. The first permitted date for recreational cricket was 11th July, which meant the first thirteen games were cancelled. The late resumption announcement from the Government meant we did not have time to raise a side against Maidenhead & Bray on 12th July and the Bedouin could not raise a side to play us on 19th July. We managed to reschedule the lost match against Eastcote (to 13th September) and add a fixture against Totteridge Millhillians on 20th September.

Of the nine games on the revised fixture list, we played seven, won five and lost two.

The annual awards were dished out over Zoom. The following nominations were received for Arnold Woods Cup (performance of the season)…

  • Louis Harris for his 52* to help us complete an eight wicket win at Northwood.

  • Dave Hancock for his 46* to take us to a more respectable total at Hampton

  • Wick.

  • Tom Bell for his 7-38 at Chobham, the second best Jesters bowling figures in the last 21 years.

  • Sarbajeet Nag for his 66, three stumpings and catch at Chobham.

  • DJ Chak for his fourteen over opening spell at Middleton Stoney. He finished with

  • 4-31.

  • Rob Dancey for his opening spell at Eversholt where he took 4-29 from seven

  • overs.

  • Adnan Mohammed for his 5-20 at Eastcote, cleaning up the tail to win the game.

  • Sachin Rawson for his unbeaten 59 at Totteridge to take us to a four wicket

  • victory.

The winner is Tom Bell for his seven wickets at Chobham. Congratulations Tom!

There were no nominations for the Michael Meyer Award for big hitting as there was no record of a member hitting a six in the seven games played in 2020!

And for the Roger Greenslade Trophy (most Jester-like escapades), the following nominations were received…

  • Alex Smith for missing a catch on the boundary at Hampton Wick. According to

  • those present, he was dozing on the boundary and looking the other way when the whole team screamed at him, making him jump in panic and miss the ball, which ended up going for four.

  • DJ Chak for confidently marching the Jesters into the pavilion at Hampton Wick to collect their packed tea bags. After most Jesters had tucked in, it was realised that the teas were actually intended for the home team, who ended up going tea-less.

  • Louis Harris for bowling a triple bouncing wide to end the game at Hampton Wick.

  • Sachin Rawson for forgetting to take his bat out after a drinks break during his innings at Eversholt.

The winner is Alex Smith for his boundary antics at Hampton Wick.

In other news, Chris Smith announced his intention to step down as Hon. Treasurer. Phil Berman has succeeded him. We took the opportunity to thank Chris for his great work over the last few years.

All other Club Officers and Committee members present were willing to stand for reelection at the AGM.


bottom of page